A Youtube Video

It’s finally happened.  It was unavoidable, really.

I was recently approached by a documentary maker who asked to interview me about my view on how Josephus influenced the New Testament (I have doubts I’ll make it into the film, though).

Due to a series of scheduling and technical difficulties, I finally decided to create a video discussing the topic.

I had hoped to spare readers from having to look at my ugly mug, but I figured that since I uploaded it, I’d share.  Maybe more videos to come…

Author: Tim...Stepping Out

Tim Stepping Out

12 thoughts on “A Youtube Video”

  1. Your mug ain’t all that ugly, but I am not a fan of such videos. I can read a lot faster than I can hear, so unless there is something that can only be shown with video (something involving motion), I prefer print.

    If you continue to make videos, you need to move your notes to just under the camera lens. If you are using a laptop, there is software much like a teleprompter that allows you to get a face-on shot from the camera while you can see your notes and read them.

    Good luck!

    Like

    1. fyi, the little ‘cog’ icon for settings under the youtube video allows you to speed up the playback – 1.5 is still easy to follow (double speed is usually a bit trickier). And you can add auto-subtitles, which helps too (and adds unintended humour throughout).
      So that might save a bit of time when watching videos!

      But thanks Tim for the insights – very interesting.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. His name is Matt Kovacs, and he’s from OH, I think – making a documentary about the historicity of Jesus, interviewing a wide variety of people, including really heavy hitters – Seth Andrews, Robert M Price, Richard Carrier, and on the other side, I think he’s interviewed Ray Comfort, Frank Turek, and other such apologists. It’s called “Who do they say I am”.

      I’m not really sure if it’s a film documentary, podcast, or web-based or what, and I have doubts I have the sort of clout or visibility that would make them want to include me.

      I was just happy that someone is open to the idea that this mystery isn’t all too tough to crack once you know what to look for…although I think my broader point that the Docetics were the ones who produced the Gospel of Mark is more important than whether they were reading Josephus or not (although that does help in assigning a date to Mark).

      Here’s a promo:

      Like

  2. If we disregard the TF and James Passage at the moment, I think it begs the question how credible Flavius Josephus is in recording history in general, not just those concerning Christianity. I think somewhere in his works (Jewish Wars I think?), he recorded Vespasian cured someone either by touching or by spit and records it as if it’s actual history. I know that he’s under the payroll of the Flavian aristocracy but for the other stuff he wrote, how reliable are those? I guess even with the writings of ancient historians, we should take them with a grain of salt.

    Like

      1. No. The James passage I’m referring to is the one in Jewish Antiquities book 20.4.1 where it says, “…he assembled the Sanhedrim of judges and brought before them the brother of Jesus, who was called Christ, whose name was James, and some others…”

        That passage is a total interpolation just like the TF.

        Like

      2. Yes – the Sanhedrin was assembled by Ananus ben Ananus, who had been appointed high priest…I happen to think the James in this story was actually the brother of Jesus bar Damneus…and Albinus appointed Jesus bar Damneus to the high priesthood out of malice in response to Ananus ben Ananus calling the Sanhedrin while Albinus was out of town. When you remove the phrase “who was called the Christ”, it becomes clear that James was Jesus bar Damneus’ brother…

        Like

    1. About as much as we can trust Irenaeus. The biggest problem is that plenty of scribes (Eusebius included) were tinkering…and who knows what was added or altered? He seems to have been a marginally qualified historian, but definitely a biased source, in any event.

      Like

Leave a Reply

